Cultural Heritage

Studio André Perry

One year after John Lennon’s “Give Peace a Chance” was recorded in Montreal, which contributed to André Perry’s international reputation, he bought the building in 1970.*







recordings

The iconic albums Jaune, by Jean-Pierre Ferland, and Lindbergh, by Robert Charlebois, were recorded in these studios. In 2008, a La Presse poll established that these two albums were the best Québécois records produced in the last 50 years.*

 

The building's façade sports magnificent peace and love symbols as part of its masonry and which serve as a bridge between the Church of all Nations era and the subsequent artistic vocation of the site.

 

Cinéma

In 1972, the “studio-in-the-church” was sold to a company called Modulations, and a new chapter of film creation began.

Several of the greatest Québécois filmmakers edited or mixed their films on the premises, most notably, in no particular order, Jean-Claude Lauzon, Gilles Carle, Jean-Marc Vallée, Denys Arcand, Claude Fournier, Pierre Falardeau, André Forcier, Christian Duguay, Louis Saia, Charles Binamé and Jean-François Pouliot.

 

Many films that have marked the Quebec landscape were mixed and/or edited in this location

 

Among the best known of which are Léolo, Octobre, Le violon rouge, Elvis Gratton II, Les Boys, Gaz Bar Blues, Un Dimanche à Kigali, Soie, Un 32 Août sur Terre, Stardom, La Grande Séduction, Camping sauvage, J’ai serré la main du diable, Maelstrom.

 

Some of the films also garnered international attention and airplay, the most recent being Café de Flore and Dallas Buyers Club by Jean-Marc Vallée.

 

In 2014, Modulations ceased its activities and the Carré des Arts started to take shape.

* Reference : andreperrystudios.com

Patrimoine culturel

Studio André Perry

Un an après l’enregistrement à Montréal de la chanson Give Peace a Chance de John Lennon qui contribua à la réputation internationale de André Perry, celui-ci se porte acquéreur du bâtiment en 1970.*







Enregistrements

Les albums emblématiques Jaune de Jean-Pierre Ferland et Lindbergh de Robert Charlebois furent enregistrés dans ces studios. En 2008, un sondage du journal La Presse établissait que ces 2 albums étaient les meilleurs disques Québécois produits dans les derniers 50 ans.*

 

Il est intéressant d’observer sur la façade du bâtiment les magnifiques symboles Peace and Love qui font partie de la maçonnerie et qui semblent faire le pont entre l’époque de la Church of all Nations et celle de la créativité artistique subséquente des lieux.

 

Cinéma

En 1972, « le studio-dans-l’église » est vendu à l’entreprise Modulations et le chapitre de création cinématographique débute.

 

Plusieurs des plus grands réalisateurs Québécois ont utilisé les lieux pour le montage ou le mixage de leurs œuvres. Notamment et dans le désordre; Jean-Claude Lauzon, Gilles Carle, Denis Villeneuve, Jean-Marc Vallée, Denys Arcand, Claude Fournier, Pierre Falardeau, Robert Lepage, André Forcier, Christian Duguay, Louis Saia, Charles Binamé et Jean-François Pouliot.

 

Le mixage et/ou montage de nombreux films ayant marqué le paysage Québécois a été réalisé dans ces lieux.

 

Le mixage et/ou montage de nombreux films ayant marqué le paysage Québécois a été réalisé dans ces lieux. Parmi les mieux connus; Léolo, Octobre, Le violon rouge, Elvis Gratton II, Les Boys, Gaz Bar Blues, Un Dimanche à Kigali, Soie, Un 32 Août sur Terre, Stardom, La Grande Séduction, Camping sauvage, J’ai serré la main du diable, Maelstrom.

 

Certains films ont par ailleurs connu une carrière internationale. Les plus récents étant Café de Flore et Dallas Buyers Club de Jean-Marc Vallée.

 

En 2014, Modulations cessent ses activités et Le Carré des Arts prend forme.

* Référence : andreperrystudios.com